CertNova

Associations

Limited Licence and the CBA: P.L.Eng., Eng.L., LEL and Licensee Rules by Province

Published September 27, 2026

A limited licence lets you take professional responsibility for engineering work within a defined scope, without holding the full P.Eng. Whether you complete a competency-based assessment (CBA) for it depends on the regulator. PEO, EGBC, APEGS, Engineers Geoscientists Manitoba (EGM), Engineers Nova Scotia and PEGNL assess limited-licence experience through the CBA, tied to the scope you are applying for. APEGA and APEGNB use experience records instead, Engineers PEI has no limited licence, and NAPEG's is still "coming soon".

The experience bar is higher than for a P.Eng.: 6 years at APEGA, and 8 years at PEO, EGBC, PEGNL and Engineers Yukon. The names differ from province to province too, so this guide sets out the rules by regulator as of September 2026.

At a glance (as of September 2026)
  • CBA used: PEO (LEL, and LET for C.E.T.s), EGBC (P.L.Eng., with the Professional Licensee indicators), APEGS (Engineering Licensee), EGM (Specified Scope of Practice Licence), Engineers Nova Scotia (Eng.L.) and PEGNL (Eng.L./Geo.L., since its December 2025 policy).
  • No CBA: APEGA's P.L.(Eng.) uses a Work Experience Summary Record and a Defined Scope of Practice Record; APEGNB uses detailed experience records.
  • Engineers Yukon's L.L.(Eng.) goes through APEGA's application, CBA included, with a Yukon verification code.
  • Not available: Engineers PEI has no limited licence, and NAPEG's, allowed under the NWT's 2025 Act, is "coming soon".
  • Experience: 6 years (APEGA) to 8 years (PEO, EGBC, PEGNL, Engineers Yukon); APEGS asks for 60 months with a four-year science degree or 96 months for technologists.

What a limited licence is

A limited licence authorizes you to practise within a scope the regulator approves, and only within it. Regulators name that scope differently: your Scope of Services at PEO, an authorized area of reserved practice at EGBC, a Defined Scope of Practice at APEGA, and a scope of practice at APEGS and Engineers Nova Scotia. Because the assessment is tied to that scope, you have to define it clearly and show experience within it. Several regulators offer a geoscience version too, such as EGBC's P.L.Geo. and PEGNL's Geo.L.

Limited licence rules by regulator (September 2026)

RegulatorDesignationCBA?Minimum experienceKey rules
PEO (Ontario)Limited licence (LEL; LET for C.E.T.s)Yes, on PDF forms emailed to PEO8 years, at least 6 within your Scope of ServicesThe CBA must show knowledge of the standards relevant to your scope
EGBC (British Columbia)P.L.Eng.Yes, with the Professional Licensee indicators8 years; up to 4 years of post-secondary education can countExamples within the proposed area of practice; most recent 2 years supervised by a P.Eng. registered in that area
APEGA (Alberta)P.L.(Eng.)No6 yearsWork Experience Summary Record, Defined Scope of Practice Record, at least 3 references
APEGS (Saskatchewan)Engineering LicenseeYes, through the CBA system60 months with a four-year science degree; 96 months for technologists and othersScope-of-practice form; at least one technical example for each aspect of the scope; 4 professional references; all experience directly supervised
Engineers Geoscientists ManitobaSpecified Scope of Practice LicenceYes, since September 15, 2022Not stated in the sources we reviewedA major scope change needs a full CBA; a minor one, a validated work experience report
Engineers Nova ScotiaEngineering Licensee (Eng.L.)YesValidators must cover at least 4 years in the proposed scopeAt least 4 P.Eng. validators; decision within 6 months
APEGNB (New Brunswick)Limited licenceNoNot stated in the sources we reviewedDetailed experience records
Engineers PEINoneNot applicableNot applicableNo limited licence; the Professional Licensee indicators are not available in PEI
PEGNL (Newfoundland and Labrador)Eng.L. / Geo.L. (limited scope)Yes, under the December 2025 Registration Policy96 months (8 years)Replaces the 2023 manual's statement that limited licences did not use the CBA
NAPEG (NWT and Nunavut)Limited licenceNot yet availableNot applicableListed as "coming soon"
Engineers YukonL.L.(Eng.)Yes, through APEGA's application with a Yukon verification code8 years, at least 2 in the area of the licenceYukon L.L. form; NPPE required

Quebec's OIQ is not covered here: it does not use the validator-based CBA and runs its own permit system (see how OIQ assesses experience).

How the CBA works for a limited scope

Where the CBA applies, you write Situation–Action–Outcome examples in the first person and name validators, just as P.Eng. applicants do. The difference is that the assessment is tied to your proposed scope, in ways that vary by regulator:

  • PEO: your CBA has to show knowledge of the standards that apply to your Scope of Services, and at least 6 of your 8 years must be within that scope. Limited-licence applicants submit the CBA on PDF forms by email, not in the online portal.
  • EGBC: examples must fall within the proposed area of reserved practice and are read against the Professional Licensee indicators, a set used only in BC. Your most recent 2 years must be supervised by a P.Eng. registered in that area. EGBC quotes about six months for a decision, and a Professional Licensee interview is one of its interview types.
  • APEGS: you upload a scope-of-practice form and give at least one technical example for each aspect of the scope. Four professional references give their feedback through the system as validators, and all of your experience must have been directly supervised by a P.Eng., P.Geo. or equivalent.
  • Engineers Nova Scotia: you need at least four P.Eng. validators who supervised or have first-hand knowledge of at least four years of your work in the proposed scope. A $50 CBA fee applies to Eng.L. assessment applications made after October 1, 2026.
  • EGM and PEGNL: both require the CBA. At EGM, a major change to your scope later means a full CBA; a minor change needs a validated work experience report.

Engineers Yukon sends L.L.(Eng.) applicants through APEGA. You apply in myAPEGA with a Yukon verification code and a Yukon L.L. form, and APEGA treats it as its full application, CBA included, even though APEGA's own limited licence does not use the CBA. You need 8 years, at least 2 of them in the area of the licence, plus the NPPE (see how northern applicants complete APEGA's CBA).

Regulators that use other records

APEGA does not use the CBA for its P.L.(Eng.). You upload a Work Experience Summary Record and a Defined Scope of Practice Record, and you need 6 years of experience and at least 3 references. Postgraduate experience credit is not available to P.L. applicants. ASET's professional technologists (P.Tech.) are due to merge with APEGA's professional licensees when Alberta's Professional Governance Act takes effect, which is expected in March 2027 (see APEGA's 2026 changes).

APEGNB assesses limited-licence applicants through detailed experience records, not the CBA. Engineers PEI has no limited licence. NAPEG lists limited licences as "coming soon"; the NWT's new Act, in force March 1, 2025, provides for them, and the territorial government described faster approvals for out-of-territory professionals.

Who should consider a limited licence

The licence is built for people with long, focused experience whose education is not a full engineering degree. APEGS sets its experience by education (60 months with a four-year science degree, 96 months for technologists), and PEO has a separate LET designation for Certified Engineering Technologists. Consider it if:

  • you hold a technology diploma or a science degree and have worked for years in one well-defined area;
  • you need to take professional responsibility for that work in your own name;
  • a full P.Eng. would mean a long academic assessment or exams that are not realistic for you.

It is usually the wrong choice if you hold an accredited engineering degree, or one your regulator would accept as equivalent. At every regulator above that publishes both figures, the full P.Eng. needs less experience (24 months after the degree at PEO, against 8 years for a limited licence), and it is not tied to one scope. If you are writing a CBA from a technologist or trades background, our guide to writing the CBA from a non-engineering job title can help you frame your work.

🛠️ Struggling with your CBA? Try CBA Pro

CBA Pro interviews you about your own work, competency by competency, and turns your answers into a formatted draft for you to review and improve. It shows you where information is still missing, and every fact comes from you.

Try CBA Pro

Frequently asked questions

Is a limited licence the same as a temporary or provisional licence?

No. A limited licence is ongoing but restricted to a scope. PEO's temporary licence covers a single project for up to 12 months with a licensed collaborator, and PEO no longer offers a provisional licence. APEGA's Provisional Licensee status was the old route for applicants who lacked only Canadian-context experience. NAPEG has no temporary or provisional category.

Can a limited licence holder be my CBA validator?

At some regulators. APEGA accepts a P.L.(Eng.) as a validator for technical competencies if the work falls within their registered scope. APEGNB expects validators of Canadian examples to be a P.Eng., P.Geo. or limited licence holder registered with a Canadian regulator. Check your regulator's rules in our validator guide before you nominate one.

Can I move a limited licence to another province?

Sometimes. EGBC accepts P.L.Eng. mobility applications, which can take up to 4 months, and APEGA's interprovincial mobility fees include P.L. holders. Engineers PEI has no limited licence to transfer into. See our 2026 mobility guide.

Do limited licence applicants write the NPPE?

At PEO and Engineers Yukon, yes. Ontario's regulation now requires the NPPE to be passed before you apply, and that covers limited licences, although PEO's limited-licence page still describes NPPE registration once the application is complete, so confirm the order with PEO. Engineers Yukon requires the NPPE for L.L.(Eng.) applicants. Elsewhere, check the regulator's limited-licence page.

Explore more P.Eng guides

Browse the full article library or find the right support for your stage.